The Georgetown-IDP Lecture Series: Following the Silk Roads to North America

We are pleased to announce the Georgetown-IDP Lecture Series: Following the Silk Roads to North America, co-organised by the International Dunhuang Project and Georgetown University.

This series was organised to celebrate the upcoming completion of the Georgetown-IDP project, which has worked to incorporate images of Silk Road items in North American collections into the IDP’s public database and to expand the IDP's partnership with North American institutions. Generously supported by the Henry Luce Foundation and the Dunhuang Foundation, the project began in 2016 and will virtually bring together manuscripts and various types of objects dispersed widely in North America through over 1000 images. Learn more about the project here: The Georgetown-IDP Project.

The lecture series is supported by the Henry Luce Foundation.

The talks in this series are below:

July 28 (11am PDT/2pm EDT/7pm BST): Dr Miki Morita and Dr Michelle Wang
‘The Georgetown-IDP Project: Prospects for Collaboration and Research’
https://www.bl.uk/events/the-georgetown-idp-project-prospects-for-collaboration-and-research


August 4 (10am PDT/1pm EDT/6pm BST): Dr Amanda Goodman
‘The Many Lives of a Buddhist Devotional Print: A Dated Dunhuang Document in the Royal Ontario Museum Collection’
https://www.bl.uk/events/the-many-lives-of-a-buddhist-devotional-print
Image Credit: Courtesy of the Royal Ontario Museum, ©ROM


August 11 (10am PDT/1pm EDT/6pm BST): Dr Xin Wen
‘A Traveler’s History of the Silk Road: Revelations from Dunhuang Materials’
https://www.bl.uk/events/a-travelers-history-of-the-silk-road


August 18 (10am PDT/1pm EDT/6pm BST): Dr Ping Foong
‘Dunhuang in Seattle’
https://www.bl.uk/events/dunhuang-in-seattle
Image Credit: Fragment of a manuscript of the Sutra on Solemn Attainment of Buddhahood by Means of Repentance to Extinguish Sins in a Great, Thorough, and Broad Way (Datong fangguang chanhui miezui zhuangyan chengfo jing), ca. 7th–8th century – Handscroll; ink on mulberry fiber paper – Chinese, Tang dynasty (618–907), attributed to Mogao, Dunhuang – Gift of Anna M. Bille, Fook-Tan, and Clara Ching, 2017.21


August 25 (10am PDT/1pm EDT/6pm BST): Dr Fan Jeremy Zhang
‘Exploring Eastern Silk Roads: A Journey Through the Collection at the Asian Art Museum of San Francisco’
https://www.bl.uk/events/exploring-eastern-silk-roads
Image Credit: Camel, approx. 690-750. China; Shaanxi or Henan province, Tang dynasty (618-907). Earthenware with glaze. Asian Art Museum of San Francisco, The Avery Brundage Collection, B60S95. Photograph © Asian Art Museum of San Francisco.



These lectures will be recorded and published to our YouTube channel.

Comments